Sonorous Earth Concerto with Orchestra

Sonorous Earth is a new piece for Third Coast Percussion with orchestra from internationally-acclaimed composer Augusta Read Thomas. The four percussionists play a battery of over 300 bells and bell-like instruments from a wide variety of cultures and historic periods.

Imagine myriad points of light, or multiple showers of shiny metallic objects, flashing across the cosmos, and you get a sense of what this arresting and evocative music sounds like.
— John Von Rhein, Chicago Tribune —
…the connection between the orchestra and Third Coast Percussion was seamlessly organic.
— Wynne Delacoma, Chicago Classical Review —

More About
the Piece

The project is conceived as a cultural statement celebrating interdependence and commonality across all cultures, and as a musical statement celebrating the extraordinary beauty and diversity of expression inherent in all bell sounds.

Sonorous Earth was co-commissioned by The Chicago Philharmonic Society with generous support from The Chicago Philharmonic Society, National Endowment for the Arts, and New Music USA, and by the Eugene Symphony Association with generous support of the Nils and Jewel Hult Foundation – Arts Fund of the Oregon Community Foundation and National Endowment for the Arts.



Third Coast Percussion performing onstage with orchestra. Images by Elliott Mandel

Next Show

Friday, May


Digital TCP: Danny Elfman

Your Home!,

ONLINE: Danny Elfman Percussion Quartet

Learn More

Sunday, May



Chicago, IL

Sunday, June


CANCELLED – Walla Walla Chamber Music Festival

Walla Walla, WA