Loading Events

digital_TCP: Devonté Hynes CHICAGO CONCERT SEASON

Join us for our first livestream concert of the 20/21 season! We'll be featuring music written for us by Devonté Hynes (aka Blood Orange), from our 2019 album Fields. The concert starts at 5:30pm PT / 6:30pm MT / 7:30pm CT / 8:30pm ET, and Dev will be joining us live (remotely) for a Q&A after the performance of his works. In addition, we'll be featuring a screening of a music video featuring music from the album's eponymous track and movement by Rena Butler of Hubbard Street Dance Chicago.

Each year, Third Coast Percussion presents 4-5 concerts of percussion music in their hometown of Chicago. In concert halls, theaters, and art galleries, the ensemble joins with world-renowned performers for programs that include premieres of new works for percussion alongside modern classic percussion music.

Plus, we're inviting creators to participate with us! Creators of all kinds are invited to respond to the music from Fields, and submit your creation for sharing on our social media and during the livestream. Click here to learn more about this opportunity. We can't wait to see your work!

Click here to join the livestream!

Program

DEVONTÉ HYNES "Press", from For All Its Fury
DEVONTÉ HYNES Perfectly Voiceless
DEVONTÉ HYNES "Fields", with music video featuring Rena Butler, directed by Quinn Wharton
DEVONTÉ HYNES There Was Nothing

What would you have paid to see this event? Help us continue to create high quality livestream events by making a donation today.

CHIRP Radio 107.1 FM is the media sponsor for this performance.

For All Its Fury, Perfectly Voiceless, and There Was Nothing by Devonté Hynes were commissioned by the Charles and Joan Gross Family Foundation. The project is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Third Coast Percussion New Works Fund, and the Elizabeth F Cheney Foundation.

Next Show

Sunday, September

27

Swarthmore College – ONLINE


Swarthmore, PA United States

Swarthmore College – ONLINE

Learn More

Saturday, October

3

Fall For Dance North – ONLINE

Toronto,


Friday, October

16

Bowling Green State University’s New Music Festival – ONLINE

Bowling Green, OH